ASCINA BLOG

The future of cities in a post-pandemic world - Virtual ASciNA Talk

By Monika Trebo | November 9, 2020

Speaker:

Petra Hurtado, PhD, Research Director at the American Planning Association

Date:

November 20, 2020, 8AM Pacific / 10AM Central / 11AM Eastern / 17h MEZ

Abstract:

The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted how we live, work, play, and move around our cities and communities. Additionally, it has changed how planners think about and prepare for the future, while navigating uncertainty. Over the last months, APA has developed a foresight approach that emphasizes the idea of “learning with the future” to help planners navigate change and prepare for future uncertainties. In this presentation, Petra will explain APA's foresight approach and how it has been applied in times of COVID-19, she will present examples of how cities might change due to COVID-19, and how this accelerating pace of change may impact the planning profession.

Short Bio:

Petra (Stieninger) Hurtado is the Research Director at the American Planning Association, heading APA’s research programs and foresight practice. In this role, she is responsible for expanding a future-focused research agenda and advancing planning practices that assist communities in navigating change. Her areas of expertise and research include urban sustainability, smart cities, emerging technologies, nature-based solutions, and environmental psychology. Prior to joining APA, she worked as an advisor, planner, researcher, and educator in the global urban sustainability arena. She has a Ph.D. in urban planning from the Vienna University of Technology, where she teaches on urban sustainability and environmental psychology. Additionally, she has been a guest lecturer at Harvard GSD, Loyola University Chicago, and the Universidad Tecnologica de Bolivar, Colombia.

Hosted by: Thomas Wallner and the Midwest & Chicago Chapter

Zoom link via RSVP: https://virtualascinatalk.eventbrite.com

The Future of Cities in a Post-Pandemic World

Categories: ASciNA Virtual Talk     |    
    |     0 Comments