Does Nuclear Energy Have a Future?

Does Nuclear Energy Have a Future?

Speaker

Alexander Rauscher, University of British Columbia Vancouver 

Date & Time

Wed, October 18, 2021, 10AM Pacific / 1PM Eastern / 19h CET

Abstract

Does nuclear energy have a future? During this talk, we will try to answer this question by looking at nuclear energy and other forms of energy generation. We will first address safety issues and pollution associated with nuclear energy. We will then move on to solar and wind power and compare their potential of saving the planet with that of nuclear energy. The main question that we will address for these energy forms is how quickly they can be deployed at a large scale. 

Short Bio

Alexander Rauscher has obtained his PhD in Physics from TU Vienna. He is Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair at the University of British Columbia where he researches the development of quantitative magnetic resonance imaging techniques and their application to the mapping of the human brain. He is also interested in climate change and energy generation and he occasionally writes about these topics in the general media.

Hosted by

View recording on YouTube

Does nuclear energy have a future?